Skip to content


Head of School

O.J. Morgan has served as head of school since 2004 and is the 12th administrator to lead Bright since its founding in 1913. A teacher and school administrator for nearly 40 years, Mr. Morgan is the father of two Bright alumni and the school’s top ambassador and advocate throughout the community. He is a historian of the school and founder Mary G. Bright, who studied with John Dewey, leader of the progressive education movement of the early 20th century. Mr. Morgan led the school through a strategic planning process as it marked its centennial in 2013, and he oversees continued progress on the school’s growth. Over the years, Mr. Morgan has participated in countless volleyball and softball games, dressed as Gandalf from Lord of the Rings, chaperoned students on trips abroad, introduced numerous plays and programs and is frequently invited by students to sit with them at lunch. He and his wife, Dr. Anne Barron, have three children and two grandchildren.

“Every day, I marvel at my good fortune in being able to come to work each day doing what I love. I am privileged to work with wonderful teachers and staff members and to interact with the young children who come here to learn. Bright School's program is second to none in this area among independent elementary schools, and its teachers are devoted to helping children develop the skills and confidence to understand their world and find their purpose in it. I know of no greater gift for our children than guiding them to the realization that their lives are meaningful and important.”

Mr. Morgan will retire at the end of the 2020-21 school year. After a national search, the school hired Kristin Watts to be the next head of school. To read more about Mrs. Watts, click here.

O.J. Morgan

Head of School
Phone: 423-305-6462

Joined Bright staff in 2004
B.A., Colby College 
M.A.T., Northwestern University
M.T.S., Harvard Divinity School

Renee' Kropff

Assistant Head of School, Operations, and Director of Technology
Phone: 423-305-6466

Joined Bright faculty in 1999
B.S., East Tennessee State University

Kendra Reasor

Assistant Head of School, Curriculum and Instruction, and Director of Bright Afternoons
Phone: 423-305-6463

Joined Bright faculty in 2017
B.S., University of West Georgia

Kim Brown

Director of Advancement, CFRE
Phone: 423-267-8593

Joined Bright staff in 2001
B.A., University of Georgia

CFRE badge

Elizabeth Davis

Director of Marketing and Communications and Director of Alumni Relations
Phone: 423-305-6460

Bright alumna '86 
Joined Bright staff in 2015
B.A., University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Sabrina McAllister

Business Manager
Phone: 423-267-8548

Joined Bright staff in 1989
B.S.,  University of Tennessee at Chattanooga 
Accounting Certification, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Brooke Moore

Director of Admissions
Phone: 423-267-8549

Bright alumna '92
Joined Bright staff in 2010
B.A., Furman University

Board of Trustees 2020-2021

Mr. Austin Center '85, Chair
Mr. Henry Aldridge '55
Mr. John Bode
Mr. Philip Byrum
Mrs. Blair Cannon
Mr. Ryan Dillard
Mrs. Mary Howard Ade Glover '98
Mrs. Lindsay Richardson Hill
Mr. William Howard
Mr. Frank Hughes
Mr. Scotty Jones
Mrs. Betsey Kates
Mr. Barry Large
Mrs. Maria Kain Matthews '69 
Mrs. Cherie Pashley
Mr. Todd Phillips
Mrs. Betsy Ranalli
Mr. Ray Ryan
Mr. John Sorrow
Mrs. Lauren Templeton
Mr. O.J. Morgan, Head of School

Former Heads of School

Mary G. Bright: 1913-1961
Dr. Mary D. Davis: 1961-1969
Martha Becton (K-3) and Gaylor Raley (4-6): 1969-1970
Sib Evans: 1970-1974
Dr. Mary D. Davis (acting): 1974-1976
Mary Ann Neale: 1976-1982
Dr. Kirk Walker: 1982-1990
Harold F. Witman (interim): 1990-1991
J. Roberton MacColl IV: 1991-1992
Harold F. Witman (interim): 1993-1994
Michael G. Murphy: 1994-2004

School Affiliations